Medvedev helps the Russian Tennis Federation win the Davis Cup

28 Dec 2021 | 09:16 | Tennis

The Russian Tennis Federation (RTF) won the Davis Cup 2021 after a 2-0 victory over Croatia on December 5.
The Davis Cup 2021 final between RTF and Croatia ended quickly after only 2 singles matches. RTF players proved too strong in singles with the presence of defending US Open champion Daniil Medvedev and world No. 5 Andrey Rublev.

In the first singles match, Rublev beat Borna Gojo with a score of 6-4, 7-6, giving RTF a 1-0 lead. The 24-year-old did not face any break-points, hitting 18 winners and winning in 1 hour and 33 minutes.

That victory helped Medvedev reduce the burden when entering the second singles match against former world number 3 Marin Cilic. The world No. 2 had to show his best tennis to win the first set with a score of 9-7 in the tie-break. Cilic played confidently, scoring with forehand shots. However, Medvedev had powerful backhands to win despite making a double error at the wrong time.

Cilic showed signs of fatigue in the second set when he lost his break in the fourth game. He almost gave up, losing quickly 2-6 in 28 minutes.

Medvedev received a standing ovation from the crowd in the stadium in Madrid (Spain), although a week earlier, it was the RTF that made the home team stop in the group stage.

“I love the atmosphere. It’s been a really great two weeks because it’s never easy to play here at the end of the season. It’s definitely been the best two weeks of my career. I’m happy for the team. rather than for myself. I’m just happy to be a part of the team and bring victories,” Medvedev shared after the championship.

RTF helped Russian tennis to win a third title at the Davis Cup, equaling the achievements of Germany and the Czech Republic, ranking 7th in the list of tournament champions.

With that, the RTF helps Russia become the fourth country to win both the Davis Cup and Billie Jean King Cup titles after the women’s team won the tournament in Prague (Czech Republic) in November with a 2-0 victory over Switzerland in the final.